It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:19 pm

All times are UTC + 12 hours [ DST ]




 Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: T5 units from mitre10mega... Ok to use?
PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 12:02 pm 
Picoplankton
Picoplankton

Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 9:10 pm
Posts: 110
Location: Nelson
If I buy the basic 4 foot T5 units from mitre10, pull them apart, and use them over my tank with the right bulbs and new reflectors, will they be fine?

Is it as simple as that or am I missing something?
Do I need some sort of driver?
I don't know a lot about T5.

I have 2x 150w MH so need some T5s to supplement what is missing.
I have new 14,000k 15,000k purple and 20,000k MH bulbs


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: T5 units from mitre10mega... Ok to use?
PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 1:18 pm 
Pteropod
Pteropod

Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:12 am
Posts: 3144
Location: Wellington
The simple answer is yes you can.

But there are issues,

They aren't water proof, or rated for wet environments so your insurance company would have a field day (and the maybe the council too if they got wind of it)

They will rust

Most standard fittings are normal or HO (high output) tubes. All of the aquarium tubes are VHO (very high output), so you have be sure you can get tubes to fit. 39w isn't a bad one to go for.



_________________
There are two types of people in this world:… Those who can extrapolate from incomplete data.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: T5 units from mitre10mega... Ok to use?
PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 3:32 pm 
Picoplankton
Picoplankton

Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 9:10 pm
Posts: 110
Location: Nelson
Thanks for your reply.
Now I am thinking about how I can waterproof them... hmmm. I might be able to make a plywood box to seal them in with an acrylic cover.

I have a 1400long tank so have been struggling to find T5s at a decent price to go over it.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: T5 units from mitre10mega... Ok to use?
PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 7:00 pm 
Picoplankton
Picoplankton

Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 3:11 am
Posts: 127
Location: North Shore
si_sphinx wrote:
Now I am thinking about how I can waterproof them.


Plasti Dip?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: T5 units from mitre10mega... Ok to use?
PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 7:19 pm 
Pteropod
Pteropod

Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:12 am
Posts: 3144
Location: Wellington
You can get water proof outside fittings but by the time you buy them and replace the tubes, wouldn't you be better just to get LEDs?



_________________
There are two types of people in this world:… Those who can extrapolate from incomplete data.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: T5 units from mitre10mega... Ok to use?
PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 11:01 pm 
Picoplankton
Picoplankton

Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 9:10 pm
Posts: 110
Location: Nelson
I have 4 tanks the same size. 3 will be led but I wanted to try MH and T5s over the 4th one just to compare and see growth rates and colours.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: T5 units from mitre10mega... Ok to use?
PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 8:53 pm 
Flagellate
Flagellate
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 9:53 pm
Posts: 322
Location: New Plymouth
Also not only might you have length issues with using marine bulbs in normal or HO fittings, the fitting itself may not be wattage-rated for the bulbs as they draw more power than regular bulbs. The consequence to this is you could have a fire, insurance issues, etc.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 12 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: